Carnitas' Snack Shack Competes in SONO Chili Cookoff

November 25, 2013

Chefs from Carnitas’ Snack Shack North Park will be competing in this year’s Chili Cookoff, part of the 4th Annual SONO Fest. The event will be held 11-5pm on Sunday, December 1st, 2013 at 32nd & Thorn Streets.

Chefs Hanis Cavin, Max Bonacci and Ivan Muñoz have been refining their recipe for the Cookoff, and look forward to letting you try some. If you’ve ever had Chef Ivan’s Smoked Brisket Chili at Carnitas’ Snack Shack, you know what’s in store!

Some Details:

Supporting a great cause while eating the best restaurant chili in San Diego? Yes, please!

Step 1 – Buy your hand crafted ceramic chili bowl from San Diego Ceramic Connection on the day of the event or at the pre-party, Friday Nov. 29th. Bowls are $20 each and $10 goes directly to McKinley Elementary.

Step 2- Eat! Your bowl comes with five restaurant chili tastings and if your taste buds want more you can buy five additional tastings for $5. Your bowl also entitles you to as much community chili as is available, located in “Chili Alley,” next to SDCC.

Step 3 – Vote! There’s a “Peoples Choice” category for the restaurant chili and many categories to vote on in the community chili.

2013 Judges

Todd Gloria, Interim Mayor of San Diego
Susan Davis, Congresswoman, California’s 53rd Congressional District
Deborah Scott, CRG (Cohn Restaurant Group) Partner/ Executive Chef of Island Prime, Vintana, Indigo Grill, Chop Sooey and Ms. Patty Melt
Candice Eley, Public Relations Manager, San Diego Tourism Authority
Omar Passons, Attorney, Foodie, Board Member – North Park Community Association
Eric O’Connor, Head Brewer, Thorn Street Brewery
Nate Sampson, Brewmaster, Hess Brewery
Greg Hess, National Sales Director and Co-owner Hess Brewery
Tim Mays, Owner of The Casbah
Chuck Silva, Brewmaster, Green Flash Brewery
Karla Peterson, U-T Columnist
Don “Brickman” Taylor, volunteer and community contributor
Steve & Paula Cook, SoNo Fest founders & McKinley boosters
Chili Ambassador: Julie Ashton-Gray, Principal McKinley Elementary School

More Info…